India Crush Ireland By 143 Runs, Register Biggest Victory To Seal T20 Series

India Crush Ireland By 143 Runs, Register Biggest Victory To Seal T20 Series
Representative Image

India registered their biggest T20 win as they demolished Ireland by 143 runs to win the one-sided Dublin series 2-0, with India posting 213-4 before bowling Ireland out for 70 in sunny Malahide.

It was India’s biggest victory margin (by runs) as they improved on the 93-run win over Sri Lanka at Cuttack in 2017. It was also the joint second-highest margin (by runs) in T20Is with Pakistan 143-run win over West Indies in Karachi earlier this year, and second to 172 runs by Sri Lanka against Kenya in 2007.

It was also the lowest total against India in T20I cricket, with Ireland sinking lower than England’s 80 at Colombo in 2012.

KL Rahul made 70, Suresh Raina 69 and Hardick Pandya 32 not out off 12 balls, while spinners yet again tormented the hosts as Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav shared six wickets.

Ireland never got off the blocks. Unlike in the previous game, they couldn’t comprehend the raw pace of Umesh Yadav (2-19) and Siddarth Kaul (1-4).

India’s new pace duo reduced the opposition to 22-3 within the 4th over, with Umesh removing Ireland’s experienced pairing of Paul Stirling (0) and William Porterfield (14) in successive overs.

Siddarth Kaul made his T20I debut while Umesh Yadav, Dinesh Karthik and Rahul were included in the playing eleven. Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and MS Dhoni were rested.

India, who won the opening T20 by 76 runs, passed 200 in consecutive T20s for the first time.

India are second and Ireland 17th in the International Cricket Council's T20 rankings, and the gulf in class was evident in both matches.

India begin a three-match T20 series against England on Tuesday. That is followed by three one-day internationals and five Tests.

India meet England in T20s at Old Trafford, Cardiff and Bristol before the one-day series starts on 12 July.

Follow @_India71
Source ANI